We cannot be alive until we have loved, dreamed, laughed, wished, or given ourselves to others.

NaNoWriMo

Dearest Followers and Visitors,

I, once again, am terribly sorry for not keeping up with updating this blog. I have actually started a new, anonymous blog project, which pertains to a much more… difficult subject. However, do not fret! I am going to continue to update this blog. I have just been a bit behind with all of the activities that I have been up to.

As you all might now, this month is National Novel Writing Month, more commonly referred to as November’s NaNoWriMo. I have taken part in the event for these past two years. I won 2009 last year with 35, 000, and this year I am attempting to go for the gusto: 50, 000 words, a true novel. No doubt, it’s very difficult. Some days, I don’t write more than a measly 400 words. However, I have found a secret to NaNoWriMo.

NaNoWriMo is not about writing your best. It is not about rushing to complete a perfect novel that everyone will deem a classic masterpiece. NaNoWriMo is about persevering and using time management to create a story. The story can be whatever you want it to be, but the main point is this: you are trying to challenge yourself to write for the whole month of November.

Even if you don’t reach your target goal, the closer you get to the target goal, the more satisfied you feel. I have a feeling that I will not reach the full 50, 000 this year, but I am proud to say that I’ve at least reached the halfway point during this busy school year. It is extremely difficult to find time between clubs, practicing my piano, homework, school, family, and friends. You cannot eliminate too much of any one thing. Therefore, I would like to share with you the list of rules that I follow for NaNoWriMo.

1. If you’re not having fun, the event is pointless. You should not overly stress about reaching the goal. Sure, there are times when you have to push yourself through not-fun times. But if you’re continuously experiencing frustration and tears, the writing is pointless.

2. Break up your major goal into accomplish-able smaller goals. Maybe the 1, 667 daily word goal is even too much for you. Just set minor goals in your head, and reward yourself with something nice when you reach it. Then get back to writing. 🙂

3. Take some days off. You need to live your life, too. Don’t miss out on some of the last days of autumn! Go out and get a nice fresh apple cider, walk through the pretty golden leaves, and let your hair get windblown by the chilly fall breeze. Just don’t fall into the bad habit of missing three WriMo days in a row!

4. Find some WriMo friends. They can even be complete strangers! Just find someone who has a novel idea similar to yours and start talking/typing to them. You might find a really nice person that will help keep you encouraged! Just remember to do the same with them. Share your ideas and WriMo wisdom!

5. Pick a courageous writing topic. Pick a topic that you don’t think you’d ever write anything about. This year, I picked a topic that is way darker than any of my other writing pieces. I’ve found myself to have so much inspiration from it. Sometimes, challenging yourself with a new writing topic gets even more creative thoughts flowing!

Those are the five simplest rules that I can share with you. Even if you weren’t able to sign up for NaNoWriMo this year, I encourage you to do it next year! I have a special blog post coming up after the end of November. In it, I will share with you the content of this year’s WriMo, and some of the thoughts and feelings I was going through day by day.

All right. I hope you are satisfied with this. This took away from my own WriMo time! I will be updating within two weeks! 😀 I hope you are enjoying these last days of autumn. If you live anywhere near WNY, you realize that the dreaded s-n-o-w is coming soon.

If you are a WriMo participant, keep on WriMo-ing!

Lots of ♥,

Sarah [=

“If you are having trouble pursuing your passion… put passion into your current pursuits.” ~ Thomas Kinkade

Leave a comment